Why I Stopped Buying Designer Items?

LL
5 min readOct 28, 2019

To be me.

My roommate asked me, “How do you know so much about designer brands and products, but own like nothing?” HAHA very funny. I had to think for a quick second.

The answer is complicated, so maybe add a couple of minutes to your reading.

You step into a Louis Vuitton store, and one small item purchase could be about $2000. Not only is the amount a lot, but it also isn’t always worth it. Don’t get me wrong, the leather and quality is high quality (if that even makes sense lol). But to be honest, I only say that because my mom taught me. Yes, she tells me about the smell of leather all the time. And she makes me smell everything before I buy it. I know, it’s great. Parents know a lot, but they probably heard it from someone else, too. It is the reputation of the brand that has gotten LV to where it is today. And probably all the celebrities and models that wear the clothes and look beautiful. They always look nice in everything they wear, and that is their job. To be honest, there are a lot of other reasons, too. But that isn’t the main focus of my essay. If you are interested, I am sure someone has a whole list of reasons and causes of Louis Vuitton’s success somewhere in this world. That’s not my story to tell, at least not yet.

Fast fashion and new trends are awesome. They really are. Many of us want the latest shoes, bags, or hoodies. But not everyone is fortunate to have that kind of luxury. And yep you are listening to one of them. As a college student and I must add out-of-state, it isn’t fun thinking about tuition or student loans (which is also another story for another time-just wait for it I guess). So I just couldn’t seem to fit in a plan of buying a new bag every week/month/year whatever. I just really didn’t see it working. I took a different approach with all the tip and money I earned from work. I needed to learn to invest right.

I couldn’t buy the newest bag from LV’s new Winter Collection, and I really wasn’t interested either. (BTW LV is short for Louis Vuitton, if you haven’t caught up yet). When I bought my first wallet from Louis Vuitton with my own money, I was so happy. Like very happy. I would take care of it and act like it was a new car. I was so happy with my purchase that I couldn’t stop thinking about it. And for me I think the story behind it was what slowed my pace from falling into a rabbit hole. I bought it with my own money in NYC. Yes that’s pretty much it for my story. It was a simple wallet with the iconic monogram. I didn’t want something flashy or something purple. I needed something that could go with everything. When I went into the store, I told myself this was a once-in-a-lifetime thing. Never again. I was satisfied. I don’t even think about buying new products and clothes when I get an email about a new collection or a sale. (that’s a lie- I am still kinda in the rabbit hole)

But it wasn’t always like that. I did want to buy other things. I wanted to buy Balenciaga, Prada, and Chanel. Trust me, those were not all the brands. I had wish lists on Barneys New York and Neiman Marcus. I signed up for so many SPAM email. And to this day, I just mark emails as ALL READ. It was just crazy. The time I spend researching bags and deciding between black or yellow was hours. I fell into the rabbit hole. I really did my research. I looked at all the different kinds of models, monograms, and material. The research wasn’t only for Louis Vuitton. I looked up other brands and watched YouTube videos of people’s collections and closets. I thought it would be cool and my whole life would just be so much better because of having brand items.

But after I bought one, I just didn’t notice myself “needing more.” My mindset was use this wallet until it breaks into pieces. This will only be a one time investment. I think I noticed early that designer names/brands really have no effect on me. I was happy with my purchases and I love them, but they are in my closet right now just chilling and collecting dust. Today, I am using my fanny packs and shoulder bags that I can swing around and soak in water (not recommending that).

The point of what I am trying to say is to see if it really “sparks joy” (Marie Kondo). We all love her. Self-Realization is important! Some people love and actually find happiness buying the latest bag and latest heels, but I could care less. It’s not me, but I truly do respect the people that have the love for it. I am personally just not into high-end fashion. I am more into “comfy fashion.” So yes when you see me on the streets, I am most likely wearing pajamas and an oversized sweater. That is me.

My mindset did eventually change. I stopped trying to be like a person I wasn’t. I wasn’t rich, and there was no way I was going to starve for a new bag. I wasn’t comfortable wearing or using something that I would have to always be cautious about. If I spilled ketchup on my sweater, oh well. I will just throw it in the hamper. I don’t want to have second thoughts about whether it needs to be hand-washed or dry cleaned. It just isn’t my priority.

There are so many talented people in the fashion industry and students that are learning about design and fashion. Kudos to them. That may be your passion and motivation in life. But I will continue to buy products that I love, but of course I will limit my purchases. Then again, H&M seems to be doing pretty well. Not only in terms of money, but quantity. I don’t need any more extra clothing and stuff UNTIL I start following Kondo’s advice. After all, I am a college student.

I have other priorities to worry about like my upcoming exams and going to class. Maybe right now I am a little too comfortable in my pajamas and I need to start switching to jeans. But in the meantime, it’s just something to think about. I possibly overanalyzed this topic, but it’s the truth FOR ME.

I am so thankful that it was a short phase because I wouldn’t be where I am now. My family and friends told me their own experiences with their purchases, and I received intriguing insight. I want people to know that you can do whatever you want, but just make sure you are happy with the decision. And then again, we never know until we try it out. Best of luck to all. Thank you all for stopping by. Take it easy!

--

--

LL

Hello. Welcome to my crazy and strange mind. Sometimes I rant, but you just gotta go with the flow.